• tncattle

Celebrating 35 Years at Tennessee Cattlemen's Association's Convention & Trade Show

The Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association (TCA) celebrated its 35th year of serving the state’s cattle producers by hosting its annual convention and trade show on January 10-11 in Murfreesboro, Tenn. Nearly a thousand attendees participated in the event, which was themed, “Where Heritage Meets the Future.” TCA was also joined by the Tennessee Dairy Producers’ Association for their annual meeting and hosted the veterinarian’s Continuing Education Program sessions.

“This year was a special time for TCA as we hit a milestone of 35 years,” said Charles Hord, executive vice president. “We wanted to recognize the strong past of the association but also acknowledge the beef industry’s constant innovation. That’s why this year’s convention theme celebrated those two things: our history and our future.”

Convention opened with a presentation from out-going National Cattlemen’s Beef Association President and Tennessee native, Jennifer Houston. She gave an update on current issues affecting beef producers on a national and international level. Later, it was standing room only during the presentation from Tennessee Governor, Bill Lee. He spoke on the importance of improving the rural areas of the state and youth’s value as the next generation of Tennessee’s farmers.

Amanda Radke, BEEF Daily blogger, shared about the trends she is seeing in the fake meat industry and what cattle producers should be aware of in the coming months. Other speakers presented topics ranging from the Asian Longhorn Tick invasion, to how to limit stress in the herd, and ways to control BVD.

During the awards luncheon on Friday, TCA presented several individuals with Awards of Excellence in the Beef Industry. These included:

  • Dr. Emmit Rawls Outstanding Stocker Producer Award: Chris Ray of Moore County

  • Dr. Clyde Lane Outstanding Cow-Calf Producer Award: Edsel Belyew of Benton County

  • Dr. Jim Neel Outstanding Work in Beef Extension Educational Programs Award: JC Dupree of Lauderdale County

  • Business Person of the Year: Matt Niswander of Lawrence County

  • TCA President’s Award: Mike Sharp of Sevier County

  • John Bartee Distinguished Service Award: Darrell Ailshie of Tennessee Livestock Producers

  • TCA Legislator of the Year: Congressman Phil Roe

  • Outstanding FFA Beef Program: Jennifer Gilbert of Clairborne County

This year marked the second annual Youth Awards Banquet, sponsored by Alltech and Kubota. More than 170 young cattle enthusiasts from across the state joined together to receive scholarships and prizes from TCA’s Top Tier Program. The following day, they participated in a Livestock Quiz Bowl and attended a seminar on Quality Care of Animals.

In addition to speakers and awards, the convention also was a way for attendees to network with one another and learn about industry products in a hundred-booth strong trade show. There was also live satellite bidding for the UT Bull Test Sale and a meeting of the Tennessee CattleWomen’s Association.

 “We’d like to thank everyone who attended our convention, as well as our speakers, sponsors, and exhibitors,” said Hord. “We look forward to another 35 years of your support.”

TCA was founded in 1985 and has more than 7,000 members from across the state and the southeast. The organization works to provide the cattlemen of Tennessee with an organization through which they may function collectively to protect their interests and work toward the solution of cattle industry problems and to build the necessary goodwill that will bring both governmental esteem and recognition to the industry.

For more information visit www.tncattle.org, email info@tncattle.org or call (615) 896-2333. Be sure to follow the TCA on our Facebook page: www.facebook.com/tncattle and Twitter account: @TennesseeCattle. 

High resolution photos of the award winners available here.

For youth award press releases and photos, click here.





Tel: (615) 896-2333
Fax: (615) 896-0244


  • Facebook App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
  • Twitter App Icon