top of page

Jay Yeargin of Weakly County Elected TCA President

Weakley County cattle producer and farmer, Jay Yeargin, was recently elected as the president of the Tennessee Cattlemen’s Association (TCA). During the January 23, 2021 TCA Board of Directors’ virtual meeting, Yeargin began his two-year term. He has served in TCA leadership positions for five years.

Yeargin, along with his wife Alice Ann and son Patrick, operate their farm business on 4,000 acres near Martin, Tenn. They farm corn, wheat, soybeans, hay, and raise around 300 head of commercial cattle. Yeargin has been involved in multiple leadership roles and has won several awards for his work in agriculture. In 2017, he won the Tennessee Farm Bureau Federation Young Farmer & Rancher Achievement Award and in 2020, he was honored as the Swisher Sweets/Sunbelt Expo’s Tennessee Farmer of the Year. He is also involved with his local UT Extension committees, his local county cattlemen’s association, the Tennessee Soybean Association, his local fire department, and his local 4-H Club.

“Jay has proven himself to be a leader in agriculture,” said Charles Hord, executive vice president of TCA. “He is a full-time farmer and brings a wealth of knowledge, experience, and dedication to our industry. We are pleased to have him serve as our president.”

This position leads the Board of Directors, represents TCA at industry meetings, helps provide direction for the association, writes for the Tennessee Cattle Business, advises committees, and much more.

“It means a lot to lead a grassroots organization with over 7,000 members,” said Yeargin. “I hope to help TCA continue to improve programs and outreach so that we can be a voice for our state’s cattle producers.”

As Yeargin became TCA president, Dustin Pearson of Gray was made president-elect, and Mike Sharp of Sevierville filled Pearson’s empty seat on the Board. Jerry Baker of Jonesborough and Zach Butler of Lebanon are also newly elected Board members.

179 views0 comments


bottom of page